About Government Railway Police (Katihar)

Government Railway Police has been established to control criminal activities and various types of law and order problems in Indian Railways and to keep them safe from criminals, anti-social elements and subversives.  The functions/duties/control and other activities of the Government Railway Police have been described in  Chapter-17 Rule-458 to 515 of the Police Manual Rules.

Functions of Government Railway Police

● Detention, investigation, and investigation of cognizable offenses within railway limits.

● Arrest of accused in cognizable cases.

● Maintaining law and order, peace and security at railway stations.

● To watch the trains standing at the stations.

● Escorting moving trains.

● To enquire into all accidents and unnatural deaths occurring within railway limits.

● To ensure vigilance and protective action during the arrival of VIPs at the stations and during their journey.

● Keeping information about habitual criminals of railways and getting them copied.


One cyber police station is being set up in each railway district. 27 women help desks are also being set up under the railway sector. In this, problems related to women passengers will be solved quickly. A control room has been set up which is working 24X7.  Bihar Railway Police organization is headed by ADG (Railway), assisted by IG (Railway) / DIG (Railway), and further assisted by SP (Railway).

1 SRP Katihar 9431800014
2 DY SRP Barauni 9473197649
3 DY SRP Katihar-1 9473197648
4 DY SRP Katihar-2 8544428235
5 IRP Barauni irp-barauni- 9473197667
6 IRP Katihar 9473197650
7 IRP Sahara 9473197651
8 Rail Katihar Cyber PS railkatihar.cyberps@ 8544428233
9 Barsoi PS 9431822719
10 Katihar PS 9431822717
11 Saharsa PS 9431822722
12 Bachawara PS 9431822727
13 Barauni PS 9431822720
14 Khagaria PS 9431822723
15 Begusarai PS 9431822721
16 Mansi PS 9431822730
17 Purnea PS 9431822725
18 Naugachia PS 9431822728
19 Bihpur PS 9431822724
20 Jogbani PS 9431822726
21 Kisanganj PS 9431822718
22 Pratapganj PS 9431822729
23 Manihari PP 9473197656
24 Maheshkhuth PP 9473197653
25 Banmankhi PP 9473197655
26 Thakurganj PP 9473197654